Tous les produits
  • Tous les produits
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Acteur
  • Studio
  • Titre
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artiste
  • Artiste (Lp seulement)
  • Etiquette
  • Chanson
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Personne
  • Travail
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Titre
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors
LIVRAISON gratuite sur tout!


In Stock












Still Burning

Still Burning

  • Par Phoenix
  • Communiqué de 29/12/2009
  • Music Genre Indie Rock/Pop
  • Format de médias CD
Share Twitter
Prix: 22,80 €

Product Notes

John Verity, Bob Henrit & Jim Rodford formed PHOENIX from the ashes of 70's super group ARGENT in 1976. Phoenix recorded 3 albums. The first was a powerful, straight ahead rock release for CBS Records in 1976, and though premature, it was to inspire a new wave of British Rock later that decade via a bootleg live album recorded during the bands tour of Europe that year. A second album recorded initially for CBS but continued under the guidance of Rocket Records remains unreleased, though a couple of singles - including a version of 'Time of the Season' were released on Rocket. 'In Full View' was the 3rd and final PHOENIX album of the time, recorded for Charisma Records without Jim Rodford who had left to join the KINKS. At this time the band also recorded a number of Russ Ballard songs, including the original version of 'I Surrender' - deemed by Charisma Records to be 'uncommercial!!' and which was subsequently a hit for Rainbow. The Phoenix & Rainbow versions were identical - presumably both uncommercial... PHOENIX then morphed into the band CHARLIE for one album on RCA Records- 'Good Morning America' before Bob joined Jim Rodford in the KINKS and JV immersed himself into record production, and the beginnings of a solo album 'Interrupted Journey' - complete with Henrit drums... JV continued successfully with the record production and solo recording whilst Bob toured the world with the KINKS. Never far apart, the pair were soon working together again playing powerful blues/ rock in the John Verity Band - until the demand for a new PHOENIX became just too strong!! It was during ARGENT's final tour of America that John, Bob & bassist Jim Rodford came up with the idea of forming a new band with a more straight-ahead, rocky sound combined with strong vocals and compelling hooklines drawn from a wealth of experience and years on the road. The Argent split was amicable, and John, Bob, & Jim were great friends who also admired each other's musical abilities so a new band together seemed an obvious progression... Rehearsals began on their return to the UK - at John's house in North London where demos were also recorded. The 3 friends all had material ready to be worked on and soon there was enough to record a full album. A management deal was secured with Trident in London, who also had a studio in London's West End where many major artists had recorded - including The Beatles 'Hey Jude'. Our intrepid Power Trio were soon burning the midnight oil, recording tracks for their first album, now under the watchful eye of CBS Records. The new band was to be called 'HRV' - Henrit, Rodford & Verity. The album title 'Phoenix - Rising From The Ashes of Argent' but record company a press soon latched on to the name 'Phoenix' so a quick re-appraisal soon established the new band's name as 'PHOENIX'. The album was released in 1976 and the band was soon on the road as planned, first of all for a series of warm-up dates in the UK and then a tour of Europe as special guests of headliners 'Aerosmith'. This first, definitive for it's time line-up enjoyed great success on this tour, which spawned a bootleg album - one of the first - inspiring many of the musicians soon to embark on the next British Heavy Rock revival years later. The Bootleg recordings, PHOENIX promo video, shot at Shepperton studios in the UK, and excellent photographs taken by Ueli Frey at gigs in Switzerland on the Aerosmith tour are timely reminders of the potential of this excellent band. It is no surprise then, that the two original members John Verity & Bob Henrit feel that the time is right for PHOENIX to rise again... It's easy to decide what to put into a live show for PHOENIX... Obvious contenders would have to be ARGENT tracks 'Hold Your Head Up' & 'God Gave Rock & Roll to You'. 'Time of the Season' was released as a Phoenix single on Rocket records, and should fit into the set well, with possibly a version of 'She's Not There' - both Rod Argent songs. A real standout success from early Phoenix gigs was 'Stay With Me Baby' and As Bob spent years in the KINKS after the last Phoenix album so 'You Really Got Me' has to be up for consideration - who knows, maybe more from the Kinks Katalogue...! There will surely be something from the series of JV Band albums - all complete with Henrit drumming, included. Hey, some of this great material could be serious contenders for a new Phoenix album... And so let's bring to story right up to date - here in the UK after a few (fairly secret) warm up dates the guys went into the beautiful Grange Studios late in the summer of '09 to lay some tracks, then on to R101 to overdub and complete the mixing. 3 live recordings from the dates earlier in the year were chosen to complete the album and here it is - PHOENIX - 'Still Burning' in 2010 after all these years... We hope you enjoy listening as much as we enjoyed recording... CHEERS!


Artiste: Phoenix
Titre: Still Burning
Genre: Indie Rock/Pop
Date de sortie: 29/12/2009
Étiquette: CD Baby
Format de médias: CD
UPC: 884502302622