Tous les produits
  • Tous les produits
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Acteur
  • Studio
  • Titre
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artiste
  • Artiste (Lp seulement)
  • Etiquette
  • Chanson
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Personne
  • Travail
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Titre
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors
LIVRAISON gratuite sur tout!


In Stock












Tonight Let's Pretend

Tonight Let's Pretend

  • Par Great Unknown
  • Communiqué de 01/12/2009
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Format de médias CD
Share Twitter
Prix: 12,94 €

Product Notes

'Tonight, Let's Pretend' is a major step for The Great Unknown, which has been harnessing it's sound for three years in Philadelphia and beyond, playing local venues such as Johnny Brenda's and World Cafe Live and touring throughout the south and northeast. Recorded in Millville, New Jersey to 3/4' tape, the album catches the energetic live sound of the band while allowing for some studio experimentation and textures that add to the listening experience. The Great Unknown are 'more concerned with crafting a song than cranking their amps and blasting through a batch of disposable booze tunes (Independent Weekly, Chapel Hill, NC),' and this record showcases that crafting in a cohesive complete album that grows with each listen. 'I Can See Forever Up Here' starts the album with a twin electric guitar riff and a chorus that begs to be repeated for days. 'Self-Portraits', a song about legendary Philadelphia artist Isaiah Zagar, allows the band to stretch out, and is followed by the catchy 'I'm Not Listening', which was featured in Paste Magazine's audio sampler last winter and can be heard on WXPN radio in Philadelphia. 'Young Military Wives' features the saw and fiddle of the Wissahickon Chicken Shack's Phil D'Agostino and Kiley Ryan, respectively, adding a combination of weariness and honky tonk to the wartime song. The live anthem 'We've Got Secrets' is augmented by soaring horns and a dinner party full of friends. The West Philadelphia Orchestra's Jack Ohly lends his upright bass work to 'Shrapnel' while the rest of the band offers it's most subtle playing. 'Votre Notra Dom' offers a changeup and features the keyboard work of EJ Simpson. The coupling of 'Over and Over' and 'Tonight, Let's Pretend' find The Great Unknown seeking out the further regions of the pop song, featuring bowed upright bass and accordian in the former, and a symphony of noise in the title track. A crowd favorite, 'The Weasel & The Worm' closes the album on an intimate note, as tape hiss fills the background of this hushed acoustic ballad.


Artiste: Great Unknown
Titre: Tonight Let's Pretend
Genre: Rock
Date de sortie: 01/12/2009
Étiquette: CD Baby
Format de médias: CD
UPC: 884502363593
Ce produit est une commande spéciale


Nous utilisons des cookies pour personnaliser le contenu et les annonces, pour fournir des fonctionnalités de médias sociaux et pour analyser notre trafic. Nous partageons également des informations sur votre utilisation de notre site avec nos partenaires des médias sociaux, de la publicité et de l'analyse qui peuvent les combiner avec d'autres informations que vous leur avez fournies ou qu'ils ont recueillies grâce à votre utilisation de leurs services. Plus de détails