Tous les produits
  • Tous les produits
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Acteur
  • Studio
  • Titre
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artiste
  • Artiste (Lp seulement)
  • Etiquette
  • Chanson
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Personne
  • Travail
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Titre
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors
LIVRAISON gratuite sur tout!


In Stock













Share Twitter
Prix: 12,92 €

Product Notes

Glafkos Kontemeniotis - Piano Apostolos Sideris- Bass Scott Neumann- Drums The CD 'Progress' by pianist/composer Glafkos Kontemeniotis is a wonderful project filled with writing that truly reflects his unique voice as a composer. 'Anthrozyte,' 'Progress,' and 'All About Monk' are compositions that will truly give the listener great insight into the creative gifts of this emerging talent. -Anthony Branker ____________________________________________________________________________________________ Glafkos Kontemeniotis is a classically-trained pianist and composer-originally from Cyprus but living and playing professionally in the New York area since 1988-makes his recording debut as leader with a command performance on the new finely crafted "Progress" album. This starter disc features eleven creative originals and fresh interpretations of four standards employing Greek bassist Apostolos Sideris and the versatile New York drummer and educator Scott Neumann in a standard piano trio format. The pianist opens the program in a technically assertive fashion on "Anthrozyte" playing hard yet stylish and sharing the piece with Neumann's solo. The Victor Feldman/Miles Davis tune "Seven Steps To Heaven," features a demonstration of the pianists appreciable chops on the instrument as well as a fine well-plucked bass solo from Sideris. The first truly gentle piece of music is in fact the original title tune where Glafkos engages in a slow dialogue with his band mates producing one of the softer textured numbers of the album. This is followed by "There Won't Be You," bathed in the same warm color and just happens to be a beautiful piece of music and one of the pillars of the album. The spirit of the great Thelonious Monk hovers over the disc where Glafkos pays respectful tribute on his perky original "All About Monk," then provides his own interpretation of the Monk standard "Well You Needn't," with nimble finger play on the keys perhaps a bit like the way Monk used to do. Other highlights here include the Victor Young tune "Beautiful Love," "A Child Is Born," and the dynamic "257" original. Clearly the most ambitious piece on the album is the lengthy nine and half minute original "Clouds of Doubts,"offering some of the pianist's most tender solo moments. No ordinary trio recording, "Progress" documents an especially sensitive performance from an exceptional pianist in Glafkos Kontemeniotis who-with this first effort as leader-succeeds in making an elegant musical statement. Glafkos and crew deliver a set of light contemporary jazz with a modern touch, well done. - Edward Blanco, 'Glafkos plays with an unpretentious directness and clarity. Rhythmically crisp and articulate arrangements, performed with ease and swing make this a debut CD that distinguishes itself beautifully.' -Arturo O'Farill ...Kontemeniotis proves that he's an under-recognized force of jazz to be reckoned with... ...Kontemeniotis has accomplished one of those sought-after results of a jazz trio: instantaneous energy freely and synaptically exchanged in milliseconds of anticipation, recognition and elaboration. The result: empathy that leads to distinctive cohesion and a unified sound... -Don Williamson.


Artiste: Glafkos Kontemeniotis
Titre: Progress
Genre: Jazz
Date de sortie: 21/04/2010
Étiquette: CD Baby
Format de médias: CD
UPC: 884501304504