Tous les produits
  • Tous les produits
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Acteur
  • Studio
  • Titre
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artiste
  • Artiste (Lp seulement)
  • Etiquette
  • Chanson
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Personne
  • Travail
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Titre
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors
LIVRAISON gratuite sur tout!


In Stock











Hard Edge

Hard Edge

Share Twitter
Prix: 17,18 €

Product Notes

The Hard Edge is a new CD by Kapiti Coast singer-songwriter David Chadwick. Produced at Audiosuite studios in Paraparaumu, the CD features fellow Kapiti Coast musicians Carylann Martin, Lawrence Leitch, Ross McDermott, and David's son Toby Chadwick, along with Wellingtonians Bill Gaynor, Jonathan Lewis, and Rudy Garrow. David sees The Hard Edge as a band album, rather than as a typical solo singer-songwriter CD. "It's not just me on the acoustic guitar with the other musicians adding the odd touch of colour," he says. " I was very lucky in that these fine musicians were happy to get so involved in recording the songs." There are 12 original songs on the CD. If you want to categorise the sound, you would probably call it folk-rock - with the odd bit of pop and a touch of the blues in places. About David Chadwick David's musical roots are in the folk scene. In the mid-1970s he was part of Wellington-based trio Jade, who appeared on New Faces and a number of other TV shows, played at festivals around the country, and released an album of traditional English and Irish folk songs (along with a couple of original songs). He has continued to write and play music ever since, with bands and as a solo performer. David's influences and musical heroes are many and varied - all the usual suspects for someone growing up in the 1960s, starting with the Kingston Trio, the Beatles, the Stones and all the other bands of the British invasion, then Paul Simon, Dylan, and James Taylor, through to Elvis Costello and Crowded House, with a bit of input from the likes of Steeleye Span, Planxty and Christy Moore along the way. In the mid 1990s, David recorded two programmes of original songs for Radio NZ, and some of these songs were released on Replay Radio as Up Along the Coast. He has also written a number of musicals and musical resources for schools. DISCOGRAPHY * Jade, (as part of folk music trio) self-produced album, 1976. * "Fred Dagg and the Man from Tamaki" (as The Gumboot Orchestra and Chorus), single Viking Records, 1976. * Songs of Prometheus, single Radio NZ 1977. * "Heyford is Watching Over You", on Send the Boats Away (compilation album), Hastings: Cityfolk Records, 1984. * Up Along the Coast, Replay Radio, Radio NZ (1994). SCHOOL RESOURCES Musical Plays * The River, performed by Te Horo Primary School 1998. * Stars in their Feet performed by Otaki College 2003. * Return to the Stars performed by Otaki College 2006. Other Music Resources * 20 Favourite Folk Songs and Sing Along, Play Along, two cassettes and booklets of songs, published as resources for primary schools by Kanuka Grove, Palmerston North College of Education, 1990. * "Just One Earth" included on Kiwi Kidsongs 13, Wellington: Learning Media 2004 and on 101 Kiwi Kidsongs Wellington: Learning Media 2007. * "Up Along the Coast" included on Kiwi Kidsongs 14, Wellington: Learning Media 2005.


Artiste: David Chadwick & Dcb
Titre: Hard Edge
Genre: Rock
Date de sortie: 19/01/2010
Étiquette: CD Baby
Format de médias: CD
UPC: 9413000004045
Ce produit est une commande spéciale