Tous les produits
  • Tous les produits
  • Upc/Cat
  • Movies/TV
  • Acteur
  • Studio
  • Titre
  • Music
  • Album
  • Artiste
  • Artiste (Lp seulement)
  • Etiquette
  • Chanson
  • Classical
  • Album
  • Personne
  • Travail
  • Video Games
  • Studio
  • Titre
  • Accessories
  • Apparel
  • Collectibles
  • Authors
LIVRAISON gratuite sur tout!


In Stock












Chordettes Collection 1951-62

Chordettes Collection 1951-62

  • Par The Chordettes
  • Communiqué de 18/01/2019
  • Music Genre Rock
  • Format de médias CD
Share Twitter
Prix: 11,82 €

Product Notes

The Chordettes were one of the female vocal groups who epitomised the style and atmosphere of early '50s popular music but who continued to have pop hits through into the rock 'n' roll era following their landmark No. 1 in 1954 with "Mr. Sandman". Formed in Wisconsin just after WWII, they moved from singing folk music to performing barbershop harmony, and in 1949 made a winning appearance on Arthur Godfrey's Talent Scouts radio show leading to their making a number of records for Columbia, without kickstarting their career in a major way. When Archie Bleyer, the musical director of Talent Scouts, launched the Cadence label in 1953, he signed The Chordettes, and they hit the No. 1 spot with their second record for the label "Mr. Sandman", the first of fifteen chart entries they had through to 1961. This great-value 60-track 2-CD set comprises their early 78s for Columbia along with all of the A and B sides for Cadence through to 1962, by which time their chart career was over, plus selected titles from their various albums on Columbia and Cadence during this era, "Close Harmony", "Sing Your Requests", "Drifting And Dreaming" and "Never On Sunday". It naturally features all their hits, including "Mr. Sandman" and the Top 5 classics "Born To Be With You" and "Lollipop". It's an enjoyable and evocative showcase for their distinctive talent.


Artiste: The Chordettes
Titre: Chordettes Collection 1951-62
Genre: Rock
Date de sortie: 18/01/2019
Étiquette: Acrobat
Nombre de disques: 2
Format de médias: CD
UPC: 824046328122


Nous utilisons des cookies pour personnaliser le contenu et les annonces, pour fournir des fonctionnalités de médias sociaux et pour analyser notre trafic. Nous partageons également des informations sur votre utilisation de notre site avec nos partenaires des médias sociaux, de la publicité et de l'analyse qui peuvent les combiner avec d'autres informations que vous leur avez fournies ou qu'ils ont recueillies grâce à votre utilisation de leurs services. Plus de détails